Crypto 2018

August 19-23, 2018

Affiliated events

August 17-19, 2018

Santa Barbara, USA

Affiliated Event: MathCrypt 2018 (August 19)

MathCrypt aims to provide a forum for exchanging ideas on new mathematical assumptions and attacks in cryptography, and, to encourage and attract new researchers to work in the area of mathematical cryptography. Its scope includes, but is not limited to:

  • Introducing new assumptions which can be used to construct or improve cryptographic schemes.
  • Proposing new attacks on cryptographic assumptions.
  • Implementation improvements for cryptographic schemes and attacks.

Potential Participants: Mathematicians, Cryptographers, Theorists, Implementers


  • Jintai Ding (University of Cincinnati)
  • Jung Hee Cheon (Seoul National University)
  • Kristin Lauter (Microsoft Research)

Call for Papers

MathCrypt invites submission of original work in multiple formats:

  • full papers
  • extended abstracts, to be presented at the conference
  • poster presentations, to be presented in the poster session

For the accepted full papers, we plan to publish our proceedings as a Special Issue of Journal of Mathematical Cryptology.

Instructions for Authors:

A full version (not an extended abstract version) of article is recommended to follow the guideline of Journal of Mathematical Cryptology: Submissions must begin with an abstract of less than 150 words. The abstract must be followed by an appropriate classification according to MSC 2010 (Mathematics Subject Classification) and a list of 3 to 6 keywords. The short title for the running head should contain at most 80 characters, spaces inclusive. Authors are asked to follow a few basic guidelines while formatting their paper for publication, in order for the journal to be as homogeneous in appearance as possible. Please download the LaTeX class file and the respective sample file including the instructions for formatting here. Submissions must be submitted electronically in the PDF format, and the submission procedure and the submission link will be announced at the conference website at a later date. All submissions will be blind-refereed and submissions must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, or obvious references. A full paper should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords, followed by an introduction, a main body within 12 pages, references, and an appendix (if any) . An extended abstract is expected to consists of 4~8 pages and a poster three halves pages. (Longer papers do not mean better papers. We recommend authors choose proper lengths of their submission depending on topics.)

The introduction should summarize the contributions of the paper at the level understandable for a non-expert reader. Optionally, if an author desires, a clearly-marked auxiliary supporting material can be appended after the submission. The auxiliary supporting material has no prescribed form or page limit and might be used, for instance, to provide program code or additional experimental data. Alternatively, the auxiliary supporting material can be submitted as a separate file from the submission. The reviewers are not required to read the auxiliary supporting material and submissions should be intelligible without it. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Paper Submission

Submissions due: June 1, 2018

Submission server:

Review of papers: June 1--July 1, 2018

Final version due: August 1st, 2018. (will be published on our website)

Camera ready form(Journal version) due: September 1st, 2018.

Invited speakers

Speakers will be decided after reviewing papers.


To be announced later.

Program Committee

  • Martin Albrecht
  • Lily Chen
  • Chen-Mou Cheng
  • Jung Hee Cheon
  • Jintai Ding
  • Pierre-Alain Fouque
  • David Hyeon
  • Sorina Ionica
  • Antoine Joux
  • Kristin Lauter
  • Hyangsook Lee
  • Arjen Lenstra
  • Dongdai Lin
  • Alexander May
  • Alfred Menezes
  • Michele Mosca
  • Christophe Petit
  • Martin Roetheler
  • Joachim Rosenthal
  • San Ling
  • Igor Shparlinski
  • Joseph Silverman
  • Fang Song
  • Katherine Stange
  • Damien Stehle
  • Ron Steinfeld
  • Rainer Steinwandt
  • Tsuyoshi Takagi
  • Mehdi Tibouchi
  • Vinod Vaikuntanathan
  • Aaram Yun