# Crypto 2020 Call for Papers



Original contributions on all technical aspects of cryptology are solicited for submission to Crypto 2020, the 40th Annual International Cryptology Conference. Submissions are welcomed on any cryptographic topic including, but not limited to:

- foundational theory and mathematics;
- the design, proposal, and analysis of cryptographic primitives and protocols;
- secure implementation and optimization in hardware or software; and
- applied aspects of cryptography.

Crypto 2020 is sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR), in co-operation with the Computer Science Department of the University of California, Santa Barbara. The proceedings of Crypto 2020 will be published by Springer in the LNCS series.

#### Instructions for Authors

Submissions must use the Springer LNCS format with the default margins and font, with one modification: submissions must display page numbers (e.g., by adding \pagestyle{plain} to the document preamble). Submissions may contain at most 30 pages including the title page, bibliography, and figures. Optionally, any amount of clearly marked supplementary material may be supplied, following the main body of the paper or in separate files; however, reviewers are not required to read or review any supplementary material, and submissions are expected to be intelligible without it. Significant changes between the published version and the submitted version should be approved by the program committee.

Submissions should begin with a title and abstract, followed by an introduction that summarizes the paper's contribution in a manner that is understandable to a general cryptographic audience. Submissions must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, or obvious references; all submissions will be blind-refereed. Submissions must not substantially duplicate published work or work that has been submitted in parallel to any other journal or conference/workshop with published proceedings. All submissions to Crypto 2020 are viewed as active submissions throughout the entire review period, and may not be submitted to any other journal or conference/workshop with published proceedings before the notification date. Accepted submissions cannot appear in any other conference or workshop that has published proceedings. The IACR reserves the right to share information about submissions with other program committees to check for violations of these rules. The conference will follow the IACR *Policy on Irregular Submissions* available at https://www.iacr.org/docs/; authors may wish to consult the IACR *Guidelines for Authors* available there as well.

Papers must be submitted electronically; a detailed description of the submission procedure will be available on the conference webpage. Submissions not meeting the guidelines above may be rejected without consideration of their merits. All accepted papers must conform to the Springer publishing requirements, and authors will be required to sign the IACR Copyright form when submitting the proceedings version of their paper. By submitting a paper, the authors agree that if the paper is accepted, one of the authors will present the paper at the conference and, in addition, will grant permission to the IACR to distribute the presentation slides as well as an audio/video recording of the presentation as per the IACR copyright and consent form. When applicable, we encourage authors to include in their supplementary materials the responses to reviews from prior IACR events as described at https://iacr.org/docs/author.pdf. During submission, the authors will be asked to indicate any conflicts of interest with the PC members. The IACR CoI policy can be found at https://www.iacr.org/docs/conflicts.pdf/

• Submission deadline: February 11, 2020, 21:00 UTC

• Reviews sent out for rebuttal: March 27, 2020

Rebuttal deadline: April 3, 2020
Paper notification: May 8, 2020
Final version due: June 15, 2020
Conference dates: August 16–20, 2020

#### Awards

The Program Committee may choose a paper to receive an overall best paper award. In a continuing effort to promote independent work by researchers at an early stage in their career, the Program Committee may also award a prize for the best paper authored exclusively by early-career researchers. To be eligible, all co-authors must be studying full/part-time or have received their degree in 2018 or later. As usual, awards will only be given if deserving papers are identified.

### Stipends

The IACR's Cryptography Research Fund allows us to waive the registration fee for all student presenters of an accepted paper (application required). Thanks to our sponsors' generosity, a limited number of stipends will also be available to students unable to obtain funding to attend the conference. Students in under-represented groups are especially encouraged to apply. To apply, go to the stipends webpage, https://crypto.iacr.org/2020/stipends.html. Contact the general chair with any questions.

## Program Committee

Daniele Micciancio, UC San Diego (program co-chair)

Thomas Ristenpart, Cornell Tech (program co-chair)

Adi Akavia, University of Haifa

Martin Albrecht, Royal Holloway University

Roberto Avanzi, ARM

Lejla Batina, Radboud University, The Netherlands

Jeremiah Blocki, Purdue University David Cash, University of Chicago Melissa Chase, Microsoft Research Hao Chen, Microsoft Research Ilaria Chillotti, KU Leuven

Henry Corrigan-Gibbs, EPFL and MIT Craig Costello, Microsoft Research

Joan Daemen, Radboud University Nijmegen Thomas Eisenbarth, University of Lübeck Poova Farshim, University of York

Sanjam Garg, University of California, Berkeley

Daniel Genkin, University of Michigan Steven Goldfeder, Cornell Tech

Shay Gueron, University of Haifa, Israel and AWS, US

Felix Günther, ETH Zurich Tetsu Iwata, Nagoya University

Tibor Jager, Bergische Universitaet Wuppertal

Antoine Joux, Fondation Partenariale de Sorbonne Université

Jonathan Katz, George Mason Univ

Eike Kiltz, RU Bochum Elena Kirshanova, ENS Lyon Venkata Koppula, Weizmann Institute of Science

Anna Lysyanskaya, Brown University Vadim Lyubashevsky, IBM Research

Mohammad Mahmoody, University of Virginia Florian Mendel, Infineon Technologies, Germany

María Naya-Plasencia, Inria, France

Adam O'Neill, UMass

Olya Ohrimenko, Microsoft Research Claudio Orlandi, Aahrus University Elisabeth Oswald, University of Klagenfurt Chris Peikert, University of Michigan Bertram Poettering, IBM Research Antigoni Polychroniadou, JP Morgan Ananth Baghunathan, Google

Ananth Raghunathan, Google Mariana Raykova, Google Christian Rechberger, TU Graz

Alon Rosen, IDC

Mike Rosulek, Oregon State University

Alessandra Scafuro, NC State

Dominique Schröder, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität

Erlangen-Nürnberg

Thomas Shrimpton, University of Florida Fang Song, Texas A&M University Marc Stevens, CWI Amsterdam Dominique Unruh, University of Tartu Michael Walter, IST Vienna, Austria David Wu, University of Virginia

Advisory Member: Alexandra Boldyreva, Georgia Institute of Technology, Crypto 2019 Program Co-Chair.

### **Contact Information**

General Chair: Leonid Reyzin

Boston University Boston, MA 02215, USA crypto2020@iacr.org

Program Co-Chairs: Daniele Micciancio Thomas Ristenpart

Department of Computer Science Department of Computer Science

UC San Diego Cornell Tech

La Jolla, CA 92093, USA

New York, NY 10044, USA

crypto2020programchairs@iacr.org